Unexpected owner of 6 young chicks found by side of the road...

Life of Eric

Songster
10 Years
Nov 8, 2013
Anderson, SC
My Coop
My Coop
Howdy,
So today I'm doing some plumbing on our house, and go out to the curb to turn off the water and I see a flock of baby chickens by the water meter. My wife is a bird lover, so I let her know about them, and next thing I know we are grabbing them up and tossing em in a rubbermaid tote. We got maybe half of the flock and the rest scurried off into the woods.
So, when I go to Lowes to get my pipe fittings I grab a sheet of OSB and some 2x3s and some chicken wire, and after getting the water turned back on for the house I put together a rather nice 4'x4'x20" chicken coop which is now sitting in my kitchen with 6 small chicks in there.
We added a water bowl and my wife gave them some of her Cockatiel food which they seemed to enjoy. Tomorow I'll stop by Tractor Supply and grab some chicken feed.
This is my first time raising chickens, and we really weren't planning on starting a backyard flock, but here we are, and Google keeps bringing me back to this site with every chicken related question I ask it, so I figured I'd join up and see if anyone has any advice.

I really don't know how old they are, but their bodys are about the size of my fist.

Adding a pic of my $20 coop, just because.

Thanks for any tips you can offer.
eb

If they are the size of your fist they probably still need starter. And will need grit. Forgive me for asking this, but are you sure they are chickens? Were they with their mom?

Welcome and great job on your quick coop aka brooder
big_smile.png