Splayed leg problem

ChicksnMore

😉
Premium Feather Member
10 Years
Jul 1, 2013
Arizona
I just got a little peachick tonight with a splayed leg and I've never worked with this before. I made a splint out of a cut up nerf bullet...they're basically a foam tube. I cut a length just big enough to go from the ankle to barely over the leg joint, then I opened the tube length wise and used a band aid to hold it closed.

This is what it looks like on....sorry I didn't get pictures of before. The leg was splayed out to the side and the chick couldn't stand. It was using its joint to hold its weight and the joint felt popped out.
If I understand correctly, it was like that for a couple of days with help being given to try to correct the problem.
When I take the brace off, his joint seems to stay popped into the right position for a bit so I do think the brace is keeping it aligned right.

Does this look/sound like it should work to fix the chicks leg? I tried several other things I read about first and I was failing miserably at getting the joint to stay in the right position. Is this kind of treatment correct for this kind of problem or is there something different I should do since its definitely the chicks joint thats not right. The joint just doesn't line up properly...the lower bone turns the wrong way, like the tendons aren't working right. Its easy to make it turn the right way, and it doesn't hurt the chick to straighten it...it just pops apart though if the chick tries to stand on it unless it has support it keep it aligned right. I'm used to splayed leg in parrots being from sitting on slick surfaces etc...this is definitely not that kinda splayed leg. Is this joint problem what typically causes splayed legs in peachicks and does it usually heal ok with the right support?

Poor cutie
hugs.gif

We seem to have a lot of peapeople experienced with chick leg and foot problems, so I'm sure they will have some advice for you on this little guy...