Raising baby chicks and ducks

Jdwyer3919

In the Brooder
Sep 20, 2023
I am new to raising baby chickens and ducks. I have built a fully enclosed run for the chickens with a chicken house and an additional enclosed house and area for the ducks.
My questions are these;
When is it too cold for them to be outside? Both chickens and ducks. The chicks are 4 weeks old and currently in my guest room under a heat lamp. The ducklings are 4 weeks old and outside in the house, which is heated.
Can I introduce new chickens to the ones I have now? I got 4 chicks and turns out 2 are male. From what I have read I cannot keep 2 males in the same pen. I also read that each male should have 8 females, so I am MANY short. Is this correct?

Thank you!

hello and welcome to BYC!
sounds like your set up is good so far. how cold does it get where you live?
when ducks are 2 months old they are fully feathered and can handle the cold, where i live it gets down to 5 degrees F some nights in the winter, and they are fine in their coop without a heater. as long as they are protected from wind and rain/snow..
my coop has 12 windows of ventilation up high to let the humidity out so my birds don’t freeze.
someone else can answer about the chicks 🐥

I am new to raising baby chickens and ducks. I have built a fully enclosed run for the chickens with a chicken house and an additional enclosed house and area for the ducks.
My questions are these;
When is it too cold for them to be outside? Both chickens and ducks. The chicks are 4 weeks old and currently in my guest room under a heat lamp. The ducklings are 4 weeks old and outside in the house, which is heated.
Can I introduce new chickens to the ones I have now? I got 4 chicks and turns out 2 are male. From what I have read I cannot keep 2 males in the same pen. I also read that each male should have 8 females, so I am MANY short. Is this correct?

Thank you!
Welcome to BYC!!

hello and welcome to BYC!